Augusta Genealogical Society Presentation 2016 Resources

From the Present to the Past:  Tracing African American Genealogy from
1940 to the 1870 Brick Wall – The Resources

Books | Online Training/Webinars | Online Resources | Archives/Libraries | Genealogy Groups


Books (Links for books from PINES Catalog)

A Genealogist’s Guide to Discovering Your African American Ancestors (2008). by Franklin Carter Smith and Emily Croom

A Genealogist’s Guide to Discovering Your African American Ancestors (2003). by Franklin Carter Smith and Emily Croom

African American Genealogy: A Bibliography and Guide to Sources. Curt Bryan Witcher.

Black Roots: A Beginner’s Guide to Tracing the African American Family Tree. by Tony Burroughs

Finding a Place Called Home: A Guide to African American Genealogy and Historical Identity. Dee Parmer Woodtor.

Finding Your African American Ancestors: A Beginner’s Guide. David T. Thackery.

Organizing Your Family History Search: Efficient & Effective Ways to Gather and Protect Your Genealogical Research. by Sharon DeBartolo Carmack

Slave Ancestral Research: It’s Something Else. Mary Jackson Fears.

Slave Genealogy: A Research Guide with Case Studies. David H. Streets.

Unpuzzling Your Past: The Best-Selling Basic Guide to Genealogy (2010). By Emily Croom

Unpuzzling Your Past: The Best-Selling Basic Guide to Genealogy (2001). By Emily Croom

The Weekend Genealogist: Timesaving Techniques for Effective Research. by Marcia Yannizze Melnyk

PINES Catalog. https://gapines.org/eg/opac/home – Use to locate books and other materials.

WorldCat.org. http://www.worldcat.org/ – Use to locate books in select libraries worldwide.


Online Articles, Training and Webinars

Ancestry.com Learning Center – http://learn.ancestry.com/Home/HMLND.aspx

Brigham Young University Free Online Classes – https://isreg.byu.edu/site/courses/free.cfm

Familysearch.org Learning Center – https://familysearch.org/learn

Family Tree Magazine – http://www.familytreemagazine.com/

Family Tree Webinars – http://familytreewebinars.com/

Genealogy.about.com – http://genealogy.about.com/od/make_family_tree/u/learn.htm

Genealogy.com Learning Center – http://genealogy.com/genehelp.html

YouTube – https://www.youtube.com/ – Use genealogy as a search term


Online Resources

African American History Collection (American Memory Project – Library of Congress) –
http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/browse/ListSome.php?category=African%20American%20History

Afrigeneas – http://afrigeneas.com/

Cyndi’s List (African American Category) – http://www.cyndislist.com/african-american

Lowcountry Africana – http://www.lowcountryafricana.com/

Reclaiming Kin (Blog) – http://www.reclaimingkin.com/

The Root – Genealogy Articles – http://www.theroot.com/?s=genealogy  

Umbra Search – https://www.umbrasearch.org/

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers (Library of Congress) – chroniclingamerica.loc.gov/

Digital Library of Georgia – —http://dlg.galileo.usg.edu

Digital Public Library of America – —https://dp.la/

GALILEO – http://www.galileo.usg.edu/welcome/ – Login in from your local libraries website to log into GALILEO.

Documenting the American South – http://docsouth.unc.edu/browse/collections.html

FamilySearch – —https://familysearch.org/

Georgia Virtual Vault – —http://vault.georgiaarchives.org/

Google (Search, Scholar) – https://www.google.com/

New Georgia Encyclopedia – http://www.georgiaencyclopedia.org/

Reflections.  Newsletter for the The Georgia African American Historic Preservation Network (GAAHPN) http://www.georgiashpo.org/historic/african_american/reflections


Archives and Libraries

Georgia Public Libraries – http://georgialibraries.org/

Georgia Public Libraries Public Library Directory – http://georgialibraries.org/directories/publiclibdir.php

Georgia Archives – http://www.georgiaarchives.org/

National Archives at Atlanta – https://www.archives.gov/atlanta/

Auburn Avenue Research Library on African American History and Culture (Atlanta, Georgia) – http://afpls.org/aarl

African-American Research Library and Cultural Center – http://www.broward.org/Library/LocationsHours/Branches/Pages/AA.aspx

Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture – https://www.nypl.org/locations/schomburg

Family History Library and Centers – https://familysearch.org/locations/centerlocator?cid=hp2-1047

The Genealogy Center (Allen Public Library, Fort Wayne, Indiana) – http://www.genealogycenter.org/

Midwest Genealogy Center – http://www.mymcpl.org/genealogy

 


Genealogy Groups

Afro American Historical and Genealogical Society, Inc. – aahgs.org

Georgia Genealogical Society – http://www.gagensociety.org/

 

Advertisements