I know its been a while since I last posted but better late than never, right?

Well, I’ve been very busy with genealogy related activities, including teaching 2 beginning genealogy workshops at the Atlanta History Center, a session on Newspaper Research for the Metro Atlanta Chapter of AAHGS, and attending the IGHR Conference at Samford University for the first time.  Not to mention the various genealogy group meetings and history related programs.  So things have been busy.

During this time, I decided to retrace the Maddox family line. Since that line comes out of Alabama, I figured I would look at it again in preparation for my trip to Samford University in Birmingham.  When I began again, I learned that I may have identified the wrong 2nd great grandfather on my mother’s paternal line.  Imagine my confusion then elation when I put the pieces together (or so I surmise.  This may be a good topic for another blog!)

So as of late, I’ve been trying to trace this line while trying to accomplish my goal for the year – getting organized. I have made a lot of progress.  I also learned of and joined the Organized Genealogist Group on Facebook which has serve as a great motivator and has inspired me to get things done.  Now, I’m trying to conduct my research in a more organized manner and the tips I pick up from the group as well as various webinars. I hope to share what I’ve learned with others to help us all become more efficient and effective in our research.

So why title the blog Finding Lina?  Well, according to my research, my mother’s grandmother on her father’s side is Aleina/Alina/Lena/Lina Maddox.  I have been successful in finding her in the 1940, 1930, 1920, and 1910 censuses and in city directories.  But that’s where the trail runs cold.  I have several brick walls with Lina. First, family oral history says that my grandfather (Lina’s son) was adopted due to the death of his biological parents.  My research suggests otherwise but I’m not discounting the story.  Secondly, I have yet to find her death records.  I have found her husband, daughter, and son’s but not her’s.  I seem to think that I may have found it because I believe she is buried in the Chestnut Hill Cemetery but I have not be able to find it again on Ancestry or familysearch.org.  Something is telling me to check my files at home (hence the reason to get more organized so I will know what I have rather than looking for something I have in a file at home).  Lastly, I have not be able to determine a maiden name for her.  In the 1920 Census, a gentleman by the name of Nathaniel Carter was listed as a boarder in their household so I hypothesize that Mr. Carter is Lina’s brother and Carter is her maiden name. But I have yet to prove it.

Now that I have written this, I have a better outlook on what I need to do to try to track down information about Lina.

The first step I’ve taken in trying to narrow down a death date for her is to search the Atlanta City Directories between 1941 and the year her husband, John Maddox died to see if that would help. The city directories will sometime list if the person was a widow, thus helping researchers narrow down an elusive death year.  I’ve done this and have narrowed it down to possibly 1948, 1949, and even 1950 since the information for the city directory was presumably collected the year prior to the year listed (so the information for 1951 was captured in 1950).  So now I can check the death registers for those years to see if I can find her which means I’m headed to the library to look at the microfiche.  Will I find Lina? Stay tuned to find out.

