Recently, I discovered the Morgan County Marriage Records database created by the staff and volunteers of the Morgan County Public Library

One night, I was researching one of my grandmother’s maternal lines – the Padgetts/Paggetts and was looking for the marriage date of my great, great-grandfather Albert Padgett/Paggett and great, great-grandmother Maggie Harris (I found a transcript of the marriage certificate, which included her maiden name, using familysearch.org – great website to use.  More on this site later.) So as I continued researching, I started getting the impression that I would have to travel to Morgan County to get the certificate but then something occurred to me – check the local library’s website.  I found the site and after a quick glance, I didn’t think it had anything to offer until I happened to scroll down where I found the Marriage Records Database.   

I was very happy to say the least to find the database.  I found records for Albert Padgett/Paggett and Maggie Harris, both of whom were married twice (that’s another interesting story).  I also found records for other relatives, including Albert’s son Jesse and Albert’s brothers Elbert and Howard.  Jesse’s and Howard’s license was listed under Patrick so make sure to look for variations of the last name. Happens a lot in census records.

Now that I knew that a record existed, the next thing to do was to get a copy of the document.  I discovered this information just in time for the Wesley Chapel Genealogy Group’s visit to the Georgia Archives.  Armed with the marriage date and with some assistance from a staff member, I discovered that the Archives had a microfilm version of Morgan County’s marriage certificates for that year.  After looking at the index, I found my great, great grandparents and the page where their licence appeared. I’ve included an image of the index page. They are the seventh couple from the bottom.

 

I later learned that I could have done that search in the comfort of my home since the Archives digitized the marriage certificates they have on microfilm and stored them in Georgia’s Virtual Vault. So you live and learn, though I thoroughly enjoyed my visit to the archives and gathered a lot of resources that day.

So what’s the lesson in all this – make sure to check the county’s public library because you just might find exactly what you are looking for. Gotta love libraries!!!!!

