Hi and welcome to my blog.  This blog will serve as my humble offering to the world of genealogy where I highlight various genealogy resources and share my experiences as I trace my family’s history.

Since this is an introductory post, I guess I should introduce myself.  My name is Tamika and I have been doing genealogy for the past 6+ years.  As a lover of history, it was natural that I would be interested in learning more about my own history, namely my family tree.  So with that in mind, I began an interesting journey that I hope to capture with this blog.

There are many reasons why I wanted to start this blog.  Among them are – sharing of genealogy related resources, an instructional tool for beginning genealogists, and a way to share my genealogy journey.  The inspiration for this blog came after looking at Cyndi’s List.  If you haven’t already and you are into genealogy, you should check it the website.  What started as a way to share resources with her genealogical society, has grown into an essential resource for all genealogists, regardless of experience level.  I have to admit that before tonight, I had only given it a cursory glance but during a idle moment (very few in number, believe me), I started looking around and got inspired to do something similiar for the groups I belong too.

So thanks Cyndi for being an inspiration.  I hope you enjoy what you read here.  My goal is to try to write something everyday about a resource I have found or to share something I have learned while doing my research. I have also begun listing various links in the sidebar of sites that may be helpful to you.

Please comment and feel free to share your stories on the topic as well.  One down, many more to go.

